Everwide Newsletter
Everwide Newsletter No.309
Date:2019-10-07

Experiment report § TritanTM Special light hardening adhesive

Many plastic containers in life are made of polycarbonate (Polycarbonate, PC). PC has the characteristics of light weight, transparency, impact resistance, and good processing. However, PC is synthesized from BPA, althoughthe residual BPA in the product is too small to be detected, and there is no problem of dissolution in cold water. Only extreme cases will be released in a small amount. The new trend is to look for alternatives and advertise BPA free. Eastman's plastic produced under the trade name Tritan is a new choice. It is a polyester polymer (Copolyester) produced by the copolymerization of different monomers. It does not contain BPA and has other properties that are quite similar to PC. The containers in Figure 1-4 were originally made mostly of PC, but now Tritan products are often available.
The cup body and legs in Figure 3, and the pot body and handle in Figure 4 are all bonded with light-hardening resin. The adhesives originally suitable for PC and PMMA do not work well on Tritan. Some cannot swell the surface, and some induce crystallization, and they cannot get good strength. We developed a special light-hardening adhesive JD943 based on the material properties of Tritan. Figure 5 shows a 2 liter kettle with a JD943 carrying a 3 kg weight, and there is no problem at 60°C/3 days +90°C/1hr. The theory of plastic bonding is fixed. Different materials need to choose different monomers, adopt different strategies, and even require different designs to match products. We are very interested in the following and welcome everyone to discuss new materials together.
─ Author: Mr. Chen in
About Everwide § Congratulations to Chengda Formula Racing Team< /strong>

The National Cheng Kung University Formula Racing Team visited the factory at the end of last year (newsletter No. 289). We sponsored resin for them to make car bodies. This year, they went to Japan to compete successfully, becoming the only electric car in Taiwan to pass the race test and the next race. So far, we have given resins to the racing teams of Tiger University of Science and Technology, South Taiwan University of Science and Technology and National Cheng Kung University.

Knowledge exchange § Can the sealant made of MS resin be soaked in water for a long time?

Most MS resins have high water absorption. For more than a few days, the strength of long-term exposure to water may deteriorate, so it is not recommended; within a few hours, short-term soaking in water has limited impact on MS, and the water absorbed by the colloid will volatilize in the later dry environment. If the colloid is not in direct contact with water, such as the adhesion between workpieces, there is no concern. It is recommended to use RTV1 Silicone for sealing materials that have been exposed to water for a long time, because its water absorption rate is low. After the water absorption rate reaches saturation, the performance of the colloid tends to be stable.

Bi-weekly strike§ Do you have real wealth?


The book says: "In addition to material (money) wealth, a truly rich person is also indispensable for spiritual wealth (freedom of time, good interpersonal relationships, and a healthy body)." This is true. The life of big bosses is often reported in magazines. They often complain that they don't have time to spend time with their families, to practice their dreams, and even their health. Considering this and losing the other, there are shortcomings in life, this is really not rich. It is precisely because life can only be taken one time, so it is very important to take into account all these needs to achieve real wealth, especially "management": efficient work comes from careful planning beforehand; good interpersonal relationships take time Manage and build trust; a healthy body comes from good habits. Look! Self-management isn’t difficult, right? Especially health. According to a survey by the World Health Organization, only 5% of the world’s people are healthy. Most people are in a sub-healthy state: a critical state between health and disease. People’s mind or body is in chaos. There are no obvious pathological features. The sub-health state particularly needs your attention, because prevention is better than cure. Someone once compared health to an antique teacup, which is on the edge of the table. When the cup falls and breaks, you may ask the insurance clerk: "How much can I claim?" If the tea cup is replaced by a healthy one, you may ask the doctor: "Can such a situation be remedied? Will the cost be very expensive? In fact, everyone knows that as long as you gently push the cup inward a little bit, you can reduce the chance of it falling. This is the concept put forward by "preventive medicine". For me, the modern version of "self-cultivation, family harmony, country governance, and peace in the world" should first take care of your own health, and then take care of the relatives and friends around you, and finally achieve the goal of everyone's health. Is not it?
─ Author: Mr. Hayashi new

发送反馈 历史记录 已保存 社区

永寬化學股份有限公司
永宽电子报
永宽化学电子报-第309期
发行日期:2019-10-07

实验报告 § TritanTM 专用光硬化接着剂

生活中许多的塑料容器都是用聚碳酸酯(Polycarbonate, PC)来制造的。PC有重量轻、透明、耐冲击、好加工…等特点。不过PC是由BPA所合成的,虽然产物里所残留的BPA少到难以检测,在冷水里没有溶出的问题,热水里也只有极端情况才会微量释出,新的潮流还是寻找替代品,标榜BPA free。Eastman公司生产商品名为Tritan的塑料就是一个新的选择,它是由不同的单体共聚合所产生的聚酯高分子(Copolyester),不含BPA,其他特性和PC相当接近。图1-4的容器原本都是PC制造居多,现在常有Tritan的产品问世。
图3杯身与杯脚,图4壶体与把手都是用光硬化树脂接着。原本适用于PC、PMMA的接着剂对Tritan的效果不好,有的无法膨润表面,有的会诱导结晶,都得不到好的强度。我们针对Tritan的材料特性,开发专用的光硬化接着剂JD943。图5显示2公升的水壶,提把用JD943接着后装3公斤的重物,60℃/3天+90℃/1hr也没有问题。塑料接着的理论是固定的,不同的材料要选择不同的单体,采取不同的策略,甚至要产品用不同的设计来配合。我们对接着很有兴趣,欢迎大家一起来探讨新材料。
─作者: 陈德中 先生
关于永宽 § 恭喜成大方程序赛车队

去年底成功大学方程式赛车队来厂参访(电子报No. 289),我们赞助树脂供他们制作车体。今年他们顺利到日本参赛,成为全台湾唯二通过赛会检验,下场比赛的电动车。到目前为止,我们致赠树脂给虎科大、南台科大与成大的赛车队,另类参加与有荣焉。

知识交流 § MS树脂所制造的密封胶可以长期泡水吗?

大部分的MS树脂吸水率偏高。好几天以上,长期曝露在水中的强度可能会变差,所以并不推荐;几小时内,短时间泡水对MS的影响有限,胶体吸收的水分在后来干燥的环境中会挥发出来。胶体没有直接接触到水的情况,例如工件间的接着,就没有任何的顾虑。长期接触到水的密封材料建议使用RTV1的Silicone,因为它的吸水率较低,吸水率到达饱和后,胶体的性能就趋于稳定。

双周好球§ 你拥有真正的财富吗?


书上说:「真正富有的人除了物质上 (金钱) 的富有外,精神上的富有 (时间自由、良好的人际关系和健康的身体) 也是不可少的。」这话一点都不假。杂志上经常报导大老板的生活,他们往往会抱怨没时间陪家人,没时间去实践自己的梦想,甚至连健康都陪进去了。顾此失彼,人生有缺憾,这样子实在不能算是富有。正因为人生只能潇洒走一回,所以兼顾这种种的需求,达到真正的富有,变的很重要,特别需要「管理」:有效率的工作来自事前的缜密规划;良好的人际关系需花时间经营和建立信任;健康的身体来自于良好的习惯。看!自我管理说起来不难,对吧?特别是健康,根据世界卫生组织调查,全球只有5%的人是健康的,大部分的人处于亚健康状态:介于健康和疾病之间的临界状态,人的心理或身体处于混乱,但并没有明显的病理特征。亚健康状态特别需要你我的注意,因为预防胜于治疗。曾有人将健康比喻成古董的茶杯,它正处于桌子的边缘。当杯子掉下去摔坏的时候,你或许会问保险业务员:「能理赔多少?」如果茶杯换成健康,你或许会问医生:「这样的状况还能补救吗?费用会很贵吗?」其实大家都知道,只要轻轻的把杯子往内推一点,就能降低它掉下去的机率。这就是「预防医学」提出的概念。对我来说现代版的「修身、齐家、治国、平天下」,应是先照顾好自己的健康,进而顾及到身旁的亲朋好友,最后达到人人健康的目标。你说是吗?
─作者:林荣新先生