Everwide Newsletter
Everwide Newsletter No.311
Date:2019-11-04

Experiment report § Room temperature hardening PP adhesive

Polypropylene (Polypropylene, PP) and thermoplastic olefin (Thermoplastic olefin, TPO) have the advantages of easy molding, chemical resistance and low cost. Its disadvantage is that the chemical structure is low in polarity, and many of them are crystalline polymers, which causes difficulties in connection. We are developing free radical polymerization acrylic adhesives to try to solve this bottleneck. Coat the glue on the PP test piece (Figure 1), and cure the two test pieces at room temperature (Figure 2). The test piece was subjected to a shear strength tensile test, and the adhesive showed a cohesive failure (Cohesive Failure). The transverse cracks on the cracked surface show the toughness of the glue: when the glue stretches with the test piece, it is caused by segmental fracture (Figure 3). Adjust the toughness and rigidity of the glue to obtain different strengths. In some formulations, the test piece has whitening during the stretching process (Figure 4). This is the result of PP crystallization in the direction of stress, which means that the adhesive strength of the resin is greater than the tensile strength of PP itself. At present, the shear strength of the PP adhesive in the experiment is about 35Kgf/cm2 under the condition of curing at room temperature and not applying Primer (Figure 5). In the future, there are still some problems that need to be broken through, such as: oxygen interference, further enhancement of strength, application to other non-polar materials... etc. We will continue to work hard.
─ author: Dr. Wu Jiaxing
About Everwide § Coastal beach cleaning

This is our fourth beach cleaning activity. The weather was very hot that day. After taking protective measures, everyone walked on the uneven rocks for the campsite and worked together to clean up the garbage. After several hardships, the coast was cleaned. a lot of. Caring for the environment requires perseverance. Looking forward to the next beach cleaning activity, you can participate with your enthusiasm. Let us work together for the earth!

Knowledge exchange § Is there any relationship between the initial curing time of MS resin and the bonding strength?

In terms of ordinary metal and plastic materials, most MS resins have initial bonding strength after 1 hour and can move the workpiece. For some resins, the reaction speed can be adjusted faster, and the bonding strength can be achieved within 30 minutes. The initial curing speed of MS resin has no certain relationship with the initial bonding strength. The initial curing will occur on the surface first, caused by the cross-linking reaction of the resin. Resins mixed with polyfunctional groups will reduce the reaction rate required for gelation to occur, making the initial solidification time seem shorter. The initial bonding strength needs to consider the wetting compatibility of the resin and the substrate, the number of resin reactive functional groups, and the polarity of different MS resins themselves. The concepts of the two are different and should not be confused.

Bi-weekly strike § My hometown

My hometown is Macau, a small land just 1/9 the size of Taipei City. Speaking of Macau, I believe that the first time you think of it is the magnificent casino. When I was studying in Taiwan, the most people asked me: "Are Macau people very good at gambling?" My answer is: "Most of us are No gambling.” In fact, besides casinos, there are many places worthy of appreciation. Macau was ruled by Portugal for 446 years, so no matter what you eat, drink, play, culture, buildings... etc., you can see the trace of "the integration of Chinese and Western".

September and December are the months I recommend everyone to travel to Macau, because every Saturday night in September, there will be a fireworks competition that lasts for 40 minutes. Many countries have participated in this grand event, which is dazzling. The fireworks bloomed in the night sky, and the scene was extremely shocking. There will be a light and shadow festival in December, which uses large-scale colorful lighting effects to be projected on many tourist attractions, making people feel like they are in a wonderful world. It only takes 90 minutes to fly from Taiwan to Macau, and it takes about four days to get to know Macau. However, although the sparrow is small, it has all kinds of internal organs. It is definitely a tourist attraction suitable for all ages and people. Welcome everyone. Come to my hometown and feel the difference of Macau.
─ Author: Miss Chen Shi Min

永寬化學股份有限公司
永宽电子报
永宽化学电子报-第311期
发行日期:2019-11-04

实验报告 § 室温硬化的PP接着剂

聚丙烯 (Polypropylene, PP)与热可塑性烯烃 (Thermoplastic olefin, TPO) 具有易成型、耐化性与成本低等优点。它的缺点是化学结构极性低,很多是结晶性高分子,造成接着的困难。我们正在研发自由基聚合的压克力接着剂,试图解决这个瓶颈。将胶涂布在PP试片上面(图1),将两试片对贴进行室温硬化(图2)。试片进行剪切强度拉伸测试,接着剂呈现凝集破坏(Cohesive Failure)。破裂表面横向的裂纹,表现出胶的韧性:胶体随着试片拉伸时,一段一段破裂造成的(图3)。调整胶的韧性与刚度,可以获得不同的强度。有一些配方在拉伸的过程中,试片产生白化现象(图4)。这是PP在应力中产生顺向结晶的结果,代表树脂的接着强度已大于PP本身的抗拉强度。目前在室温硬化、不涂Primer的情况下,实验中PP接着剂的剪切强度约在35Kgf/cm2 (图5)。未来还有一些难题需要突破,例如:氧气干扰的问题、进一步提升强度、应用于其他非极性材料...等,我们会继续努力下去。
─作者:吴家兴 博士
关于永宽 § 海岸净滩

这是我们的第四次净滩活动,当日天气很炎热,大家做好保护措施后,步步为营地走在不平稳的石头上,协心戮力地把垃圾清理干净,几经辛苦后才让海岸干净许多。爱护环境需要持之以恒,期待下一次的净滩活动,能有您的热心参与,让我们一起为地球多出一分力吧!

知识交流 § MS树脂初固时间和接着强度有关系吗?

若以普通的金属、塑料材料来说,多数的MS树脂在1hr后就有初期的接着强度,可以移动工件。有些树脂可以把反应速度调快,在30min内就有接着强度。MS树脂的初固速度与初步接着强度没有一定的关系。初期固化首先会发生在表面,由树脂的交联反应所造成的。混入多官能基的树脂会降低胶化发生时所需要的反应率,让初固的时间看起来变短。初期接着强度则需考虑到树脂与基材的湿润兼容性、树脂反应官能基数以及不同MS树脂本身的极性大小…等,两者的观念不一样,不能混为一谈。

双周好球 § 我的家乡

我的家乡是澳门,一个只有1/9个台北市的大小的弹丸之地。说到澳门,相信大家第一时间想到就是金碧辉煌的赌场,我在台湾读大学的时候,最多人问我:「澳门人是不是都很会赌博?」我的答案是:「我们大部分都是不赌博的。」其实除了赌场以外,还有很多地方值得大家细赏。澳门曾被葡萄牙统治了446年,所以无论在吃喝玩乐、文化和建筑物…等,都可以看到「中西交融」的踪影。

9月和12月是我最推荐大家去澳门旅游的月份,因为9月的每个星期六的晚上,都有长达共40分钟的烟火比赛,很多的国家都有参加此比赛盛事,那璀璨夺目的烟火在夜空绽放,场面震撼至极。12月会有光影节,是利用大型五光十色的灯光效果,投映在很多的旅游景点上,让人彷佛处于一个奇妙的世界。从台湾到澳门只需要90分钟的飞行时间,大概四天就可以把澳门玩透,不过麻雀虽小,却五脏俱全,绝对是一个老少咸宜,让人乐而忘返的旅游胜地,欢迎大家来我的家乡,感受澳门的与众不同。
─作者:陈诗敏 小姐